EAT TASTE HEAL: An Ayurvedic Cookbook for Modern Living
home about the book authors table of contents sample recipes press gallery order
Ayurveda 101
ayurveda 101
ayurvedic overview
five elements of nature
three mind-body types
digestive fire
toxic accumulation
optimal digestion
seven bodily tissues
what's my dosha?
the six tastes
ayurveda detox
ayurvedic resources
why buy organic?

How Food Becomes Your Body- The Seven Dhatus
We all know that food is required for life. The way in which food actually feeds the body, however, is often not understood. Ayurveda identifies seven vital tissues that provide nourishment, growth, and structure to the entire body. These tissue layers, called dhatus, are strikingly similar to the major tissues identified by modern science. Ayurveda expands upon modern interpretation, however, by also including tissues in liquid form. The 7 dhatus are:

1. Plasma (Rasa)
2. Blood (Rakta)
3. Muscle (Mamsa)
4. Fat (Meda)
5. Bone (Asthi)
6. Bone marrow and nerve (Majja)
7. Reproductive fluid (Shukra)

Once food is fully digested, the building of tissues commences. Beginning with plasma, the tissues form sequentially, with each layer building upon the layers that come before it. An imbalance within any tissue will, therefore, affect all subsequent tissues. Unhealthy plasma, for example, will affect all layers.

Proper diet and digestion ensure excellent tissue renewal. Plasma is rich in digestive nutrients and actively transfers these nutrients to subsequent tissue layers. In this way, even the deepest and most complex tissues are nourished by the foods we eat. Ojas is the ultimate “essence” of each dhatu. The most effective way to improve the health of the dhatus is to increase ojas. Improper diet and digestion, on the other hand, will lead to ama formation in each tissue layer.

© 2014 Five Elements Press Eat • Taste • Heal: An Ayurvedic Cookbook for Modern Living email: